Running into issues with your teammates making unintentional changes to attributes or coworkers who don't realize attribute settings are shared by everyone in the workspace? To prevent people from making changes, whether intentional or not, to an attribute, you can lock the attribute.

Locking an attribute is a reversible feature that makes it clear to your fellow workspace members that they shouldn't make changes to an attribute without consulting the right folks.

You can even link a locked attribute to a task form to make it super easy for teammates to request changes to be made to locked attributes.

Note: Attribute locking and unlocking is an Enterprise plan feature. To learn more about each plan and their features, check out our pricing page.

What does locking an attribute do?

Locking an attribute sets the attribute to a "read-only" state, and disables editing of the attribute until it's unlocked. In addition to indicating that changes shouldn't be made to the locked attribute without consultation, locked attributes also make it clear that changes to the attribute affect everyone in the workspace.

Locking an attribute prevents anyone from editing the attribute's name, its options, and settings. Users cannot add new attribute options or remove existing ones, from either the attribute's settings or from in the app while locked. Additionally, locked attributes cannot be archived (or unarchived).

When viewing a locked attribute's settings page, workspace members can look at the attribute's setting, and will see the attribute is locked, along with information about who locked it and when in the footer. If a task form was selected while locking the attribute, people viewing the locked attribute will also see a button to Request changes.

Locking and unlocking attributes also creates an activity log in your workspace's Security log.

Who can lock and unlock attributes?

Any workspace member can lock and unlock an attribute. Both actions will trigger an activity log in the attribute's activity log as well as the workspace's Security log.

How to lock an attribute

To lock an attribute, go to Product settings → Attributes, select the attribute you want to lock. Underneath all of its options and settings, you'll find the Lock attribute button.

Clicking it will ask you to confirm that you'd like to lock the attribute to prevent it from being edited by anyone until unlocked.

Attribute locking is managed on a per-attribute level. So the attribute "Status" can be locked while keeping the attributes "Due date" and "Priority" unlocked.

How to unlock an attribute

Locking an attribute is reversible and any workspace member can unlock a locked attribute. To unlock an attribute, click on the "Unlock" button in the footer.

You'll be asked to confirm that you want to unlock the attribute. Once confirmed, any workspace member can make changes to the unlocked attribute.

Unlocking an attribute generates an activity log in both the attribute's activity log as well as the workspace's Security log.

How people can request changes to locked attributes

If you'd like to give people a way to easily request changes to locked attributes, you can optionally pick a task form to use from the confirmation modal.

If you don't already have a task form for requesting attribute changes, go to Product settings → Task forms and create a new task form. Your task form can ask questions, like "What change would you like to make?", "Why?", and "When do you need this change to be made by?" Task forms can also have assignees set by default, so you can set the assignees to triage incoming change requests made via the task form.

Once the attribute is locked, a button to Request changes will show up on the attribute's settings page. When someone clicks on that button, they'll be shown the task form you picked.

💡Tip: Learn more about task forms and how to create questions for requesting attribute changes here.

Did this answer your question?