Connecting your GitLab account

Connect your GitLab account to enable your team to collaborate across GitLab & Height from Product settings > Integrations.

Linking a task and a branch

Any branch name using the unique task ID (i.e. T-1) will link the branch and the task together. For example: michael/T-1-my-first-feature will be tracked automatically in Height.

For your convenience, you can right click on a task to copy the auto-generated branch name.

Once a branch and task are linked:

  • the task will get marked as "In progress" (or any other custom status)

  • the branch (and its status) will appear in the task activity history

  • you can choose to show it as an attribute in your lists from the View menu

💡Tip: If you say "Close T-ID" or "Fixes T-ID", when the branch is merged on the default branch, the linked task will also get automatically marked as "Done" (or any other custom status you set in preferences).

Linking a task and a merge request

Similarly, any merge request mentioning the unique task ID in the merge request title will get linked to that task automatically. You can also use the keyword "Link" with a unique task ID in a merge request description or comment to link them (e.g. "Links T-123).

Once a pull request is linked to a task:

  • the linked task will get marked as "In progress" (or any other custom status)

  • the pull request (and its status) will appear in the task activity history

  • you can show merge requests as an attribute in your lists from the View menu

  • you can optionally see merge request comments right in the Height task

💡Tip: If you say "Close T-ID" or "Fixes T-ID", when the merge request is merged on the default branch, the linked task will also get automatically marked as "Done" (or any other custom status you set in preferences).

Linking a task and a commit

Commits can be linked to tasks as well. Mention the unique task ID in the commit message, and it'll get automatically linked to the task.

A commit will only appear in the task activity history when it's merged on the default branch.

💡Tip: If you say "Close T-ID" or "Fixes T-ID", when the commit is merged on the default branch, the linked task will also get automatically marked as "Done" (or any other custom status you set in preferences).


Did this answer your question?